Primary Research on Children’s Books

IMG_3066 IMG_3067 IMG_3068 IMG_3110 IMG_3111 IMG_3112 IMG_3113 IMG_3114

Before actually starting any designing myself, I wanted to make sure I understood what sort of design trends go into children’s book designs. In order to do this, I thought it would be best to carry out some more primary research so I could see first hand which books stood out on the shelf the most in a real life scenario.

It became clear to me straight away that all children books seem to be quite simply designed and bright. This is because children don’t want loads of text in their books because they’re not strong readers so if they saw lots of text they’d most likely be put off the book. The way that the majority of the books I looked at attracted children’s attention was to use bright bold colours and big pictures on the front of the cover  – so this is a technique that I’ll be using in my design.

Leave a comment